Members should post only precise answers in order to keep our quality. Debates must go on to comments only. See FAQ for details
asked in Gaming+Sports by (30 cents) 2

2 Answers

1 thanks
answered ago by (1,412 cents) 1 4 19
Not necessarily....they are supposed to catch the ball, bouncing, grabbing, kicking the ball...it really does not matter, as long as the ball steers clear from the goal.

When they are passing the ball to other players they can either kick the ball or throw it to the other player from his team, there is no big rule on that either.

Hope my answer was helpful and insightful.
1 thanks
answered ago by ELITE (3,164 cents) 2 5 21
When the goalkeeper has prevented the ball from entering the goal he is now in possession of the ball. Nobody can try and take the ball away from the goalkeeper when he is in possession of the ball. However, once the ball hits the ground the ball is considered back in play. 

A goalkeeper must be holding onto the ball to keep it in his possession. If he has placed the ball on the ground and is trapping it with his food, the ball is considered in play and can be taken away from the goalkeeper. Furthermore, if the goalkeeper is trying to trap the ball with his body to keep it in his possession it can be taken away from him. If the referees deem this a dangerous act the opposing team will be reward one free kick against the goalkeeper. 

Bouncing the ball according to the rules of 1997, bouncing the ball is saying the ball is back in play. The rules clearly state once the ball hits the ground it is back in play. Even putting the ball on the ground and holding it with their foot the ball is back in play.  

So if a goalkeeper decides to bounce the ball while it is in his possession, then the ball is back in play once it hits the ground the first time. That is what the official rules are stating. 

Enter your email address:

Most active Members
July 2018:
  1. Poehere - 183 activities
  2. ruthmongare - 122 activities
  3. sil - 113 activities
...